Realistic Time Management

I just got an interactive whiteboard (specifically a Promethean Board) for this school year. I have really enjoyed playing around with it and trying different activities through the Flipcharts (similar to a PowerPoint but run through the Promethan board software). Literally I have spent hours playing with the board so I would be confident to use with the students come Monday … but it has got me thinking.

Flickr: Alexkerhead

Flickr: Alexkerhead

What is a realistic amount of time to invest in creating a flipchart for a single lesson?

I will be teaching 6th grade and 8th grade Spanish this year, which luckily is only two preps. However, if I spend 3 hours creating a single Flipchart – I still have to find time to create something for the other class. I need to find the balance between doing what is best for the students while utilizing technology and sacrificing my life/sanity to expect perfection with the interactive whiteboard.

Each lesson will get used three times this year and hopefully even more next year. I knew before I became a TIME teacher that this would be a huge time investment. While I knew earlier I think I just realized it now.

About L Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, and BYOT Club founder. I have recently embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

