Badges Gone Wild

Badges have been an enormous, crazy success with my 8th grade Spanish students. The badges are one of the newer features rolled out on Edmodo this summer. The badges were inspired by video game incentives, but the appeal is not limited to that demographic. In fact, as a teacher I want to be able to earn more too.

My Teacher Badges

The challenge will be keeping up with awarding the correct badges to deserving students. So far, I have averaged a new badge every 3 days. However, at the beginning of the school year we cover a lot of review topics and each area of mastery earned a badge. My goal for the year is to create a badge for each of the grammar and vocabulary units covered during the year. There will also be another set of badges based on positive behavior in class: participation, helping out, going above & beyond, student blogger, early bird, and anything else I can think of that will motivate them.

I started the year by making a list of synonyms for ‘master.’ I added new blank badges with some of the words, so creating a new badge just includes finding an appropriate image and adding the content name to the master indicator word. There are some fun synonyms like Virtuoso, Wiz, Guru, etc.

My Current Student Badges

The advice from Edmodocon 2011 was to check websites with icon images for the perfect size badge. My favorite resource has been the Icon Archive. There are a multitude of creative and colorful options. I highly recommend checking out the recording of EdmodoCon 2011 (found on the Edmodo Blog). The presentation by Hyle Daley at 6:04:46 provided a lot of inspiration for applying badges in my class.

Icon Archive

The typical class begins by someone asking what badges they will be able to earn that day. The students also beg for more time to play the games to win the badges. They just see them as games, but most of them realize that they have to understand the vocabulary or grammar concept to really excel at the games. Study Stack, Quizlet, and Quia are my go to sites for review of concepts and grammar. For the games that keep score, I set a specific point value that will ‘unlock’ the badge. I set it as an attainable challenge. They should not win on the first try, since practice is as important in education as it is in sports. However, I do not want them feeling like they are never going to win a badge so they quit before they seriously try. The current necessary point levels are below – they will change as the year goes on and the students are more familiar with the expectations of each game and they master more content.

Study Stack

  • Hungry Bug – 3,000 points
  • Bug Match – 3,000 points
  • Matching – 2 minutes
  • Quiz – 100%
  • Test – 92%

Quizlet

  • Scatter – 30 seconds
  • Space Race – 5,000 points
  • Speller – TBD

Quia

  • Millionaire – 1,000,000 points
  • Challenge Board – TBD
About L Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, and BYOT Club founder. I have recently embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Badges Gone Wild

  1. forigua says:

    Hola!!!!
    My name is Alejandro, and I am a Spanish education major at NYU. I just learned about Edmondo a few days ago, and I am starting to see all of its amazing features. I think the idea of the badges it’s pretty interesting and motivating for students. I am really excited about using it in the future. Thank you so much for sharing this.

  2. Pingback: Games | Adventures with Technology

  3. Pingback: Roaming the Halls with QR Readers | Adventures with Technology

  4. spanishplans says:

    Is there anyway for you to add those badges to your ‘shared badges’? Right now if I click on your profile it says you have “17 shared badges” that I can add to my collection. Thanks,

    Justin

  5. Pingback: Edmodo Spotlight: Lisa Butler, Hershey Middle School | Edmodo – Safe Social Networking for Schools

  6. Pingback: Another Year, Another Reflection | Adventures with Technology

Leave a Reply

