GoogleGlass week 2

There was something different about wearing Google Glass for the second week. The biggest change was my willingness to let more people try it on. That made me nervous the Me throughGlassfirst week. Thanks to novice users, I appeared in a variety of candid shots when the photos were uploaded to G+. The collage to the left is some of my favorite shots from people just playing around with the camera feature. I am not that vain, so now my strategy is to guide them to Google a question. The search results don’t immortalize my interesting facial expressions. I could also justify students taking class time to Google the state of their choice – the 50 states is our next unit, so it tied in nicely and gave everyone the opportunity to try Glass if they wanted. Another change was the length of time I would wear Glass. Since I wore it for longer stretches, when I took Glass off I still had a phantom Glass feel and I would swear I was wearing it.

HourOfCode

Monday our BYOT Club participated in the Hour of Code. I captured their work through Google Glass. I have never heard them work so silently, as they worked independently through the different levels of Light Bot. I did peak their interest in Glass. We are having a special club gathering for them to brainstorm how students could use Glass to learn after getting to try it on. I am going to have some pre-written prompt cards to have them work through different processes. I am sure I will have some great suggestions that they come up in a post next week.

Screen Shot 2013-12-15 at 5.07.56 PM

A disadvantage to using the Glass more: it would overheat and shutdown. I suppose there could be a possibility that the two events were unrelated, but it happened multiple times. The first time I really noticed this was a problem was when I was letting students Google information about the states. It would successfully work for 7-9 students and then it would shut down. I would not say that they were doing anything incredibly intense. They were not recording video or following GPS directions. My solution was to stick Glass between the double pane window in my classroom. That quickly cooled it off. It was almost pretty with Glass in the window and snowflakes falling in the background.

GroceryShoppingSince I was comfortable with Glass, I took it with me grocery shopping and Christmas gift shopping. I love the connection of Google Now (through the Google iOS app and the voice command “Remind me to…”) and Google Glass. I was able to save my shopping list as a reminder and pull it up with a tap and a single swipe. That was very efficient. Granted, if the list was longer than the small view finder, it would be less successful. I also used Glass to demystify some of the pre-holiday sales. I do not like when stores have a percentage off a percentage or other confusing terms. Luckily Google is a math whiz as long as you speak clearly. While out shopping today, only two people came up to ask questions about Glass. There were many people who just stared. My favorite was a middle school age kid who stood next to me for awhile in the dairy section before working up the courage to ask about them. I rewarded his curiosity by letting him try them on. I felt like Santa granting someone’s holiday wish.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, and BYOT Club founder. I have recently embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings & Advice Received, Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to GoogleGlass week 2

  1. Pingback: GoogleGlass Week4 | Adventures with Technology

  2. Pingback: EdcampMetroDC 2014 | Adventures with Technology

  3. Pingback: RE: Summer Institute | Adventures with Technology

Leave a Reply

