GoogleGlass Week3

Screen Shot 2013-12-24 at 3.36.37 PMThe excitement this week was bringing Google Glass to BYOT^4  Club. I created a FlipChart to explain the different functions they could try with GoogleGlass. Because the ratio of students to Glass was not balanced, I told the students to research about Glass online. They came up with tricks I had not even discovered (like opening Google when there is music playing and swiping to have the artist/song revealed). I also asked them what they thought of Glass; these are some of their answers:

Student Reaction

Screen Shot 2013-12-24 at 12.35.02 PM

 

Taking a picture #throughglass of people taking pictures.

Taking a picture #throughglass of people taking pictures.

For the question about the price range they – someone said $1,000,000 and another student wrote out a thoughtful explanation of bugs needing to be fixed before they would comment on cost. All of them liked Glass, some just elaborated on why they liked it. The features they liked most were asking Google complex math problems, taking pictures, and translating the posters around the room into other languages with the WorldLens app. Each student was able to try the Glass 2 or 3 times and complete one of the tasks.

fan cooling GlassThe room where we have BYOT Club has no window access, so a new cooling off technique was necessary. The fan on high speed was rather efficient.

The overheating/turning off is of concern. I have made multiple attempts at contacting Google to find a resolution to the problem. Based on the Community Forum, the problems I am experiencing are not common. That makes me feel so much better about the usability of the product, just not my personal device. Of course, I would feel even better if mine worked like anticipated. Maybe Santa will help me out.

Screen Shot 2013-12-24 at 3.08.36 PMThere was an update this week that allowed two substantial chances: wink for pictures and connecting to the new iOS MyGlass app and getting turn by turn directions on Glass. The wink is slightly creepy. I generally do not like being winked at (unless in reference to Pride & Prejudice). Now if a random person winks and happens to be wearing Glass, you have to wonder if they took your picture. The wink feature even works when the Glass is in sleep mode. It’s also taken pictures for me when I have yawned or sneezed because my eyes must twitch like winks. It has made for some interesting pictures. I like the GPS directions on Glass. It was easy to follow and hear without being a distraction.

I used Glass to help create Christmas movies – I created a short one for everyone in my family to preview their big gifts (some of which were too big to make the journey, so they are only getting the video for now). While wearing Glass, I took pictures of the product, related to the gift, or just general holiday pictures. Without Glass, I would not have been able to get action shots of wrapping presents or sampling at the winery. I still have not streamlined getting the photos from Glass to my computer or iPhone to make videos (or generally use). There is easy ways to share with Facebook and G+, as long as you want to share it with the world. I can share privately to Evernote, but that takes up precious space. I wish a DropBox app existed for Glass to push desired pictures directly to DropBox. It does sync when I connect Glass to my laptop, but I notice not all pictures show up on G+ backup. I do not know how it selects which ones are valuable. The picture capabilities were the easiest to use and learn (including my new trick of the vignette). I hope other features will become as second nature.

About L Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, and BYOT Club founder. I have recently embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Reflection, Technology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GoogleGlass Week3

  1. Pingback: GoogleGlass Week4 | Adventures with Technology

  2. Pingback: EdcampMetroDC 2014 | Adventures with Technology

Leave a Reply

