GoogleGlass Week4

Today is my one month anniversary for class. Our bond has successfully lasted as long as most of my high school relationships, with the same emotional up and downs, elation to frustration to joy to confusion. This week I dreamed about Glass. I was wearing Glass to resolve the drama of my dream, which was loosely based on the murder mystery novel I was reading before bed. Obviously the dream version had better features, but it was still a sign that using it has become a natural part of my day and now dreams.

2013-12-28 17.38.13A newly discovered actual feature is the projection of Local Attractions and Photo Hot Spots in close proximity to Glass with a tap and a backwards swipe. Since I was playing the role of a tourist, it was interesting to see the places recommended as attractions. However, I do not know what algorithm Google uses to select the picture to represent the place. The Columbus Zoo shows a guy leaning awkwardly against his car, which is not an accurate image to demonstrate why people would want to visit the famous zoo. I loved wearing Glass and taking pictures and videos naturally while walking through the Wild Lights display at the zoo.

Screen Shot 2013-12-29 at 6.41.17 PMRandom musing of the week: Could a gorilla learn to use Glass? Obviously not the voice commands, but the simple swipe sequences to accomplish tasks. This is what I was thinking about while taking pictures of the gorillas while wearing glass. The use and series of motions have become easy. Initially I would be frustrated when moving between the options and menus, but now it is second nature. I can visualize the process and walk others through the process if they try on Glass and I stare deeply into their eyes (which has been very helpful when using the classroom).

A major difference this week has been the environment where I have been wearing Glass. I was visiting family for the holiday in Central Ohio and Glass is less known. I wore it many places and I got 10,000 stares but only 2 people actually showed interest and knew that it was Google Glass and not a medical device for my eye – which I overheard someone pityfor the strange thing on my face. Attending tech conferences it will be the opposite reaction. There are definitely differences in the environment and geographic areas.Some of my family were less pleased with me wearing Glass. 

Screen Shot 2013-12-30 at 5.16.52 PM

It did bring up the discussion about Glassiquette. When should you wear it? Is wearing it when you don’t need it unsocial? What about places with no photograph policies – like museums? Should I care what people think? While wearing Glass I do not check Facebook or play Candy Crush, so I am more involved in the conversations around me. I just sometimes include Google in the loop to find answers. 

The true value of technology is being able to incorporate it into everyday life to complete tasks more efficiently. Personally, I can not be an occasional user or I am wasting the money. Once I really explore in my personal life, it is so much easier to apply to the classroom.

Previous Glass Reflections:

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, and BYOT Club founder. I have recently embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings & Advice Received and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GoogleGlass Week4

  1. Pingback: I, Glasshole: My Year With Google Glass | SoshiTech - Social Media Technology - Soshitech.com

  2. Pingback: EdcampMetroDC 2014 | Adventures with Technology

Leave a Reply

