Missing History

Today the Teacher Workstation is being switched over to the 2009-2010 school year, and I realized I miss history. I miss being on a core team and sharing students with a group of teaching peers.

I miss knowing what I would be teaching from one year to the next. I know I was lucky between my first and second year having the same classes. However, as I do huge projects for my graduate classes that are intended for classroom use, a little part of me worries – what if I don’t teach that this year?

I miss only having one prep. It was so much easier to differenciate instruction when everyone was starting from the same singular place. I loved working with the Special Ed teachers in the building. I think they helped make me a better teacher. Many of the suggestions they helped are good practice, not just for select students.

However, I do not miss flex time and homeroom. I have always loved Spanish, first as a student, than as a traveler, now as a teacher. I have a creative passion for Spanish that did not fully exist with Social Studies. What I loved about Social Studies was the culture, geography, sociology and general history. I still get to teach these, just from the Spanish perspective. I am happy where I ended up and look forward to years of teaching Spanish. There were only a few things that I missed about teaching American History. Now that I see them written down, they appear even more insignificant in the realm of everything.

¡A mí me gusta el español!  🙂

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings & Advice Received, Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

