Rocket Science

Flickr Creative Commons: Jose Kevo

Flickr Creative Commons: Jose Kevo

Even if it is the anniversary of a significant event with space travel and rocket science, I can not name one way that rocket science personally changed my life. However, I can list many teachers who have changed my life for the better: Ms. Klein, Ms. Baliotti, my mom, Sra. Warda, Mrs. S, Mr. Handcock, Mrs. Wilford. Someday I want to make someones list.

I think now would also be a good time to express how I feel towards the idea that “teachers get the summers off.” Yes, this is remotely connected to the quote about how demanding the work is. I know that people in the educational world would never make the comment about having summers off, but it seems that I hear it almost endlessly from the blissfully ignorant general public. First, I easily put in 12 to 20 hours on the weekends during the school year, which means that come June, I need a mental vacation. While I might be working less and not traveling to a specified location to work, there is rarely a day where I am not planning for the next year or reading a professional article to further my personally development. Not to mention that I am taking 3 graduate level courses this summer (and I did the same the previous summer). Oh, and I have had multiple days of technology training through the district and I have a few days of curriculum development with my department to look forward to soon.

Ask me about my time off and it is a quick response. I hope to make it to the beach in August for a few days. Ask me about the professional development I am doing over the summer and it takes a lengthy paragraph.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

