Flickr

Wow. I have being sucked into Flickr and somehow two hours have disappeared. I frequently used Flickr when looking for the perfect Creative Commons images. However, I had never explored posting my pictures. This could be dangerous … since I actually have places to be next week.

Plaza en Tarija, Bolivia

Plaza en Tarija, Bolivia

These are the ideas I had for my classroom using Flickr.

  1. Travel Log. Where in the world have Hershey Middle School students gone (& their teacher too). If they (or their parents) did not feel comfortable posting and linking it to my group, they could just send me the picture. I would post it just with their Spanish name. Some of the best travel pictures do not have people smiling in the camera. I want to see what they saw, I do not necessarily need to see their face. So this would protect their identities. I have already added pictures of the places I have visited, and it was relatively easy to add them to my Flickr map. I did have some problems because the embedded map is not detailed for Bolivia, and Flickr did not like the vague geotags.
  2. Cultural discussions based around photos. There is a chapter of the textbook that focuses on life and the plazas in Spanish speaking countries. I had pictures of plazas from my own travels. It was great to add notes to highlight the aspects I expect students to recognize that make Spanish plazas special.
  3. Timed Writing Prompts. We keep track of student writing growth through a 5 minute writing based on a prompt. Any picture on Flickr could serve as a prompt.
  4. Google Earth linked with Flickr. This is similar to the travel log, except when I use Google Earth to point out locations mentioned in the stories, I get to see other people’s pictures too.
  5. Geography research. When the students are assigned a country to investigate, I want them to pick one picture that they really liked from the country. We can discuss Creative Commons, and they will have to narrow their search. This will be a quick introduction before the presentation portion of the day.
About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Changes for Future, Inspiration, Technology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

