Lost

Image from Dumpr.net / Flickr Creative Commons GEsteves

Image from Dumpr.net / Flickr Creative Commons GEsteves

I realized that I am now technology dependant. While I was moving over the weekend, there were going to be three days where I did not have an Internet connection… and I struggled. I did not realize how often I used the Internet – checking the weather, looking up addresses, checking the time for a movie, etc. Is it sad that I can not remember how to find these answers easily without the Internet?!

I have become accustomed to using the Internet to always have the correct answer at my fingertips. I am like my students. My problem solving process normally involves “google” at some point. Random water on the floor, google “plumber.” Hungry but can not figure out what I want, google “recipe AND whatever random ingredients I have in my fridge.” Someone feels sick, google “symptoms.”

I enjoy the flexibility of using google and other Internet sites in my classroom. I do not pretend to know everything. I love it when the students ask a question and we look up the answer together. Cultural questions often turn into teachable moments.

This is going to make me think twice with assignments for students. If someone does not have access to a computer and/or Internet, the job would potentially be five times more time consuming. The Internet may make life easier, but only for those of us who have access.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

