ClassTools.net

I have found the new perfect interactive tool for my Spanish classroom. I like the options that Quia offers; however, I often find it time intensive to set up. I just played around with ClassTools. In five minutes (si CINCO minutos) I created the verb review. There are many different types of activites to create. If you wanted more details, there is an instructional video on TeacherTube.ClassTools

¿Quién hace?

The only disadvantage is not being able to embed the finalized activity in WordPress – but I can embed it in my Moodle site and Wiki. Another advantage it has over quia – FREE. No yearly membership required (all things considered, quia is a good value for the price because there are so many visually appealing options).

Ideas for using Class Tools in my classroom:

  • Arcade style review – simple vocab recognition.
  • Countdown timer will be great for the interactive whiteboard when I need a timer. I also use an online stopwatch that counts up or down.
  • Random Name Picker – another great resource for the interactive whiteboard. Another source for random name generator … I will try both of them out this year to see which is best.
  • Dustbin for anytime there are words to be seperated into categories. You can have four categories – such as subjects, articles, tense, etc.
  • PostIt will be good for labeling clothing objects on the manequin.
  • I do not have any genius ideas for the Fishbone … yet. I am sure I can incorporate the plot of one of the TPR novels.
  • Venn Diagram. The classic comparison tool with a technology makeover. It would be great to create with the class, save, and post somewhere for future reference. I will use to compare cultures. For grammar purposes, the students can compare/contrast direct object pronouns and indirect object pronouns.
  • Animated books. Great for publishing student writing samples. Looks as easy to use as all the other activities on the site. It does appear more plain than some of the other online publishing choices like myEbook or Image Chef, but I still think there is potential.
  • There are some other functions of the website, but you get the idea from what I have already listed.
About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Forward Thinking, Language and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

