Tweet Treats

I might be a disappointment, but I do not see any benefit of using Twitter with my students. At the middle school level, some of them are just learning how to type. There is not much advantage to try and use it in the classroom since the students do not consider it something exciting. They would much rather text. This surprised some experts at the beginning of the summer when the article was published, but it makes sense. Young people are always within reach of their cell phones.

Do not get me wrong, I think Twitter is a powerful tool, just not for my classroom. Twitter is the perfect way to develop a PLN or professional learning network. I did not fully believe in it until I tried, now I am hooked. I am not going to pretend to be an expert (because I’m not) and I am not going to pretend that I only use Twitter for professional development (because I don’t). I am able to follow other Spanish teachers from around the world. Some people I follow are from Spanish speaking countries. Some people I follow are for entertainment purposes and a quick smile during the day.

I have found so many technology tools to incorporate into my classroom. While I might have stumbled across them on my own at some point, it would have been a lot of time randomly wandering the web. I contribute when I can to save someone else the headache of searching.

Twitter

There is an extensive wiki list of teachers who tweet, which is divided by subject. I recently added 10 additional people just from the list. So my network is growing and I am going to be even smarter this year.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

