Spanish bullfighting (on a budget)

  • Flickr Ainudil

    Flickr Ainudil

  • One at a time, six beasts will be released, then stampede their way along an enclosed course ending in the Plaza de Toros – the bullring – where later, the animals will meet their end.
  • Except, when the truck door opens – nothing. There is a pause, someone bangs on the side, and finally two horns and a lazy-looking head appear.
  • The crowd all know the inescapable truth – this is low-budget bull-running during a recession.
  • The annual fiesta is the highlight of the year, and where the bullfight is the highlight of the fiesta, where bullfighters are billed like film stars on colourful retro-style posters.
  • Nationwide, unemployment is nearly 18%, double the EU average.
  • Compromise was inevitable
  • Hence, two days of bullfighting rather than three – using ‘novillos’, younger animals weighing 300kg (660lb), as opposed to the standard 500kg.
  • In the morning, they would take part in the bull run and in the evening, do battle with ‘novilleros’ or trainee bullfighters.
  • That evening, the makeshift plaza was almost full – as a band heralded the lycra-clad novilleros with a paso doble, the traditional soundtrack for bullfights, and a thickset man raffled off a leg of ham balanced on his shoulder.
  • To this crowd, it mattered little that the novilleros were rough around the edges. There were shouts of encouragement, jokes and advice in abundance.

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

This article was short and to the point. But it is significant for two big reasons. One, the global cultural connections it will provide for my classroom. This is something my students can relate to – having to cut back because of the economy. Yet, at the same time, running of the bulls and bullfighting is something completely new. Before talking about the article I could show a clip of a previous running of the bulls.

This example has lots of energetic bulls. That way my students would understand how much has really changed. Not surprisingly the engaging article involves a holiday – which proves my point in my previous post. With the topic of bull fighting, an upset student always wants to know why they waste the life of the bull, which smoothly transitions into using every part of the bull, especially for Spanish tapas. Another food/significant cultural aspect of Spain.

The second significance to this article was more personal. I saw that how I (and most other people) attain knowledge has shifted. What is not taught in the classroom comes streaming in through RSS feeds, Twitter posts, and blogs. Out of the hundred stories that fill my netvibes page a day, this was one of the stories that got my attention. As I was reading I found an answer to a question I had been asked that day (How do you translate El Novillo Alegre un resturante en Costa Rica). Knowing it was a steak house, I was reasonably sure it had something to do with cattle. Looking it up in a Spanish-English dictionary told me it was a young bull. However, the article gave me so much more. It highlighted the differences between a young bull and a mature bull. Besides there being a 200kg difference in weight, the temperament is different. Young bulls are not exciting in a run or a ring. I might use traditional sources to get information, but I know that when I want to dig deeper I need to use digital resources. Also, I learn any time my computer is on. The new knowledge flows in almost unnoticed. When the situation arises when I need the information, I can usually recall reading something about that topic and back track my way to the correct answer.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Language and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spanish bullfighting (on a budget)

  1. Pingback: Spanish bullfighting (on a budget) | film news

Leave a Reply

