Digital Dialects

I almost forgot how much I enjoy the simplicity of flash review games. Digital Dialects is my favorite site. They have games for about 60 languages (some more developed than others). The Spanish section is divided into regular and advanced. All of the activities keep the students attention for the five minutes it takes to play the game. When I play test the games I am completely engrossed, and I know the answers.

The only downside is the target audience, most likely not middle school students. In the verb review game, the verbs fumar and tomar are included. Tomar would not be bad on its own, but the picture that is associated with it is an alcoholic beverage. However, all the other games are classroom appropriate.

I find these activities make good homework assignments. The students do not complain about doing them and they often play the game more than once. I link to Digital Dialects through the school Moodle site so I can track the traffic. I do assume that if they follow the link they do the activity.

This year I hope to try some of the activities on our interactive whiteboard. For the activities where you need to drag the object to the correct location it will visually stimulating on a big screen.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Language and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

