Flipping over these …

… in a great way. Thanks to my PLN I saw the tweets about the 2-for-1 offers on Flip Videos from Digital Wish. They arrived in the mail yesterday and I had to try them out today in class.

Besides, it would be a great way to show case another technology success: interactive whiteboard games. I created Digital Dominos en español, which have been a huge success with my 6th graders. They have to work as a team to match the dots with the appropriate Spanish numbers. While it is a basic concept, it has been a great five minute activity at the end of lessons. Participation is so strong that I have to encourage them to walk faster to leave the room (because they hang around in case I let one more student go). Random FYI – I uploaded the lesson to Promethean Planet, now I am just waiting for it to get approved and magically show up in the Resource Search.

I think activities like these are good for another reason, the students need to be comfortable with the interactive whiteboards. The game takes some of the treat away from trying to use the pens. It also helps that the students have seen me adjust to using the interactive whiteboard/pen. Mistakes happen, we laugh, and we learn together.

The next three items on my technology wish list: tripod/camera stabilizer, microphone/audio capturing device, and rechargeable battery pack for Flip Phone.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

