TPR Storytelling

Last week I attended a TPR Storytelling workshop. I had been to one last summer, so I was still an amateur, but I was able to soak up more of the suggestions. My basic  definition of TPRS: Teaching students how to speak and write the language through storytelling instead of grammar drills. I am not an expert in TPR Storytelling. There are so many resources out there created by the experts:

However, while I was sitting being drilled in French (a language that confuses me greatly) – my mind was wandering and wondering. What are the ways I could mix TPRS and technology? The method was developed over ten years ago (there was not an specified date exactly, but an online sharing group was started in 1999). They have not updated the delivery for the change in the times, it is still taught in a paper based system, but I do not think that is an accurate representation of my classroom now or where classrooms are heading in the future.

tprs

Using the flip chart at right, I can ‘drag a copy’ of the question words and the structures. This way when I ask questions I can provide the visual cues for the students.

I would also use the ‘Drag a Copy’ feature when I initially present the key structures. These have to be presented ahead of time so the students are receiving comprehensible input. I also have flip charts where they can drag the vocab word to match fun/practical pictures I find on Flickr that are creative commons license.

Group Retell/Rewrite:

After we have created a story, I would ask students to repeat sentences/phrases they remember hearing. As a class we would be able to drag the sentences so they fit in a logical order.

Project the actual story:

Have the students use the highlighter function to mark phrases. This will demonstrate that they can find words/phrases in context.

Student’s copy of story:

Share the story through GoogleDoc. Students can save a copy and add their own comments (ctrl+M) or highlight the story. This will also allow them to have access to the story outside of class.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Language and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

