Sharing

It feels good to know that resources I am creating are being shared. Of course, it still shocks me how frequently some of my activities are used. I put two activities of AR verb practice on Quia, the other day when I checked I saw the one had been used over 17,000 times! In fact, its been used 10 times since I started writing the blog post.

quia2

To people who have hundreds of daily hits on their blog or website on a regular basis, this isn’t a big deal, but it still makes me feel like I am providing something that helps students. I know the battleship game is a favorite of my students and they enjoy playing during boring study halls. However, my students could not be responsible for more than 400 of the hits.

I used to think that my greatest contribution to education would be helping one student at a time. However, I now think my contribution can be sharing one great digital activity at a time.

I am motivated to be a more active contributor to Quia and to Promethean Planet … and if I find any other websites that allow teacher to collaborate, I will consider sharing there too.

I recently said “our department does not need to reinvent the wheel because we share what we have created. By working together we have created enough wheels to move a train.” I am not saying it was the most logical analogy, I was extremely tired, but the basic idea is still correct. By working to create common activities and common assessments, our students are benefiting from our individual areas of expertise. Not to boast, but technology is one of my strong points. The other teachers provide their expertise and in strengthens all of our lessons while saving us the time and stress of doing everything ourselves.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

