Subject Pronouns

I found inspiration on Twitter this morning.

iwbict Create student portrait folder in your resource library. Use photos on iwb pages wiv thought or speech bubbles. Kids love seeing themselves

I was just getting ready to teach subject pronouns to my 6th grade Spanish students. How perfect would it be to have the students group themselves and act out the subject pronouns. I have a digital camera in the classroom. So I can easily capture their interpretations of the subject pronouns. I can save these in a IWB folder and pull them out on my Flipcharts.

I think I will use free photo editing and write the subject pronoun in a subtle color on the bottom of the images. I like using Picnik or PhotoNotes.

If they help create the images, hopefully it will help them remember. I can use the images to review subject pronouns, but they will also be useful when I start teaching verb conjugations as well.

I think using the students pictures will make it easier for the students to see that ellas = Catalina + Margarita. Each of the images will have the subject pronoun as the caption. The students already know each other, so they will be able to put names to the subject pronouns. I think new Spanish students (and sometimes not so new) have difficulties matching a group of people with the single word subject pronoun.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Language and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

