ActivEducator Blog from Promethean Planet » Just What Is An ActivClassroom?

  • tags: iwb

    • I read a lot of stuff on the web and listen in on a lot of conversations about interactive whiteboards and all that jazz.  Sometimes I’m all pumped up and sometimes, I get a little deflated. So I’ve been thinking lately, just what IS an ActivClassroom anyway?
    • To me, the ActivClassroom is a group learning environment, where we use the individual components (interactive whiteboard, Learner Response Systems, ActivInspire), to encourage group participation. It’s not what the components are but more what you do with them
        1. Learning should be fun.
        2. Students who participate and contribute learn better.
        3. Assessment should be for learning.
        4. Learning should be student centered.
        5. Lessons should reach all learners regardless of their learning styles.
        6. Technology itself doesn’t makes success. Good application can  (as seen in the research!)
      • Here’s What I Believe About Learning

        To me, these are my beliefs about learning:

    • Is your ActivClassroom an environment that encourages and maximizes student participation? Or is it a glorified teacher presentation and testing station?

      What is your vision? Where are you on your journey?  How can we all get there together?

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ActivEducator Blog from Promethean Planet » Just What Is An ActivClassroom?

  1. Nicole says:

    Learning is fun and students that participate do learn more. I totally agree with your vision of the classroom.
    My classroom is an ActivClassroom but I want it to be more active. Trying new things and talking to others helps to create my active classroom. I sometimes think, given my subject and schedule, that my classroom will never be as active as I would like. However, and this is a big however, I will keep trying. Trying new things and new ideas. The way to success is failing, but never giving up. That’s where I am.

Leave a Reply

