Resolutions

1. Go for it. There are many opportunities to showcase what I am doing, exchange ideas, and make my life easier. People are never too young to be teachers. You just need the knowledge, the passion, and the ability to communicate. I would much rather be in front of the classroom than bored, sitting through ANOTHER technology in-service based on basic computer skills.

2. Reflect. In the last year I have really increased the use of technology in my classroom. I need to spend more time reflecting making sure I am using the best tool for the situation. Instead of overwhelming the students with all the cool tools I find, I need to find tools that can be used in a variety of situations.

3. Be more tolerant of others. People know I enjoy technology and that I apply it in the classroom. They are frequently passing along “great tips.” If it is something I already know, I should encourage them, and provide them with another tech tip. I need to avoid the negativity. Even if I do not agree that Google Forms are better than Moodle quizzes (obviously not, since Moodle can self-grade and provide specific and timely feedback) … even with difference of opinion, at least people are attempting to use technology in ways to benefit the students.

4. Let it go. There are some things I can not control – like technology not working or people letting technology sit idle. There are more important things in life, which has never been more clear to me than this year.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

