iPod Touch

While at PETE&C I attended a great presentation on using iPods as a replacement to a traditional computing platform in the classroom. I was inspired. There are so many free apps, and new ones are being developed everyday. I wanted an iPod Touch, and it was only partially for research/investigation purposes.

Almost two weeks later, I still was craving an iPod Touch, so I bought one. There was about a half hour learning curve for me to become completely comfortable with the iPod Touch. The keyboard was what took the most practice. Now I am able to write entire paragraphs comfortably – the WordPress App allowed me to write the first part of this blog post from the comfort of my futon.

The night before the purchase I went on to iTunes to find content. I figured if I could not find content I was interested in, I would not bother purchasing. It was not a problem. There are currently 593 pages of education Apps, there were 578 pages a couple days ago. Which shows how fast the Apps are being developed. Of those, I found 104 FREE Apps that could be related to a middle school Spanish class. I found many additional Apps that were $0.99 to $1.99 that could be very beneficial.

I am currently trying out all the free ones. I am keeping a log of each one after I try it (there are also some podcasts on the list). Anyone could contribute to the list – if there is an App that you think is a must-have for a Spanish classroom, submit the info on my wiki. Even if I do not get any iPod Touches for the classroom, I will still be able to recommend Apps to students with an iPod Touch or an iPhone. There are different Apps that would be beneficial during different units.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Changes for Future, Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

