If I gave a student $3 …

… I do not think the first thing they would go out and buy is the mobile Moodle App – mTouch. The students have really enjoyed downloading the free educational apps that I have recommended (actually it was probably getting to use them in class that they actually enjoyed), but I could not recommend they download this. Free Apps that were relevant to our learning **: gFlash +, iReview, Word Reference, World Customs & Cultures, World Atlas 2010, etc. Most of the students told me they have a limited monthly budget for Apps, music, or movies.


I can’t even really blame my students for their App frugality. When I am $3 and it needs to be spent immediately, I splurge on a non-fat latte, not an iPod App. I am hesitant to purchase the App for my iPod Touch. It is not completely necessary – I am able to access my Moodle sites just using the wireless connection. Yes, sometimes it is hard to read, but that is the price you pay for it being free. I knew when they developed a Moodle App it would cost something – but I am unhappy with $2.99 (not that my opinion counts because I’m not an expert on fair pricing). I know that I was researching getting iPod Touches for my class next year. However, at $3 each I could not afford to put the Moodle mobile app on all the iPods.

A positive for the mTouch: there is a free Windows download so people can try it before they buy it. This will allow you to see how courses display and what students will have access to. You are able to log into your actual courses. If the mTouch app became popular I know I would have to alter the appearance and layout of my own Moodle course. There was no way I was going to consider paying $2.99. However, I will give it a chance and play around on the simulated App. I will give it a fair review after playing around with it for two weeks… so yes, you might see a change of heart in the near future.

** gFlash+ works with StudyStack and Quizlet

** iReview works with Quizlet

** Word Reference is an online Spanish-English dictionary

** World Cultures & Customs is a perfectly detailed description of the culture in each country (sorted alphabetically)

** I also gave the students some optional, free Spanish word of the day Apps

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Forward Thinking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If I gave a student $3 …

  1. Ali Ozgur says:

    If you think 2.99 USD is expensive and want to proivde your students free copies of mTouch you can check out our custom branding plans. We offer up to 65% discount which makes mTouch price fall to the makic 0.99 USD.

    Here is our plan http://www.pragmasql.com/home/moodletouch/custombranding.aspx

    Thanks for the feedback.

    • lgb06 says:

      I have passed on the branding plan to the people in my district with the power, so thank you for the link.

      The teacher I share a room with downloaded mTouch this morning – so I have been able to see the App in action. The navigation will taking some getting used to. I also want to see the App from the student perspective – when I pulled up my course it showed many items that were supposed to be hidden. Being that my professional portfolio is on Moodle, students seeing hidden objects makes me nervous. What makes me even more nervous: this afternoon when I tried to open my course again, I got the message “url not supported.” WHAT?!? It is a Moodle course and I have not changed anything since this morning, so what changed?

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention If I gave a student $3 … « Lgb06's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

