2010 Whiteboard Challenge

As I was researching ideas for having my own IWB this year, I remember seeing what others had accomplished last year. I am excited to challenge myself to learn more. There is more information on the Whiteboard Blog as well as the Interactive Whiteboard Challenge.

General gist: complete challenges created by other users of IWB. You also need to create an activity and challenge others to create it.

Two former challenges I completed (good practice for later) were ‘cloning an object’ and ‘making transparent’.

The challenge I created was a ‘Choose your own ending story.’ I have really enjoyed creating it, even if it has been a black hole for my free time. I have spent hours with my creation. It is a masterpiece, something I am really proud of, so it feels justified.

My class reads Pobre Ana by Blaine Ray. Every year there are questions about the possibility of a romantic relationship between Ana and Ricard0 – the guy she meets in Mexico. I played on this interest by creating multiple possible endings to take place after chapter 6.

The highly recommended first step is to create a mind map to illustrate the possibilities. I used MindMeister – but there are many good/free resource options. It ended up looking like a disturbed family tree; there are many places the arrows double back or endings that fit under many categories.

My classroom has a Promethean board, so I used ActivInspire to create the actual activity. I created a starting template – with a page number and 2 arrows for moving forward. I copied the template 75 times (literally). You need to have the pages numbered so when you start linking the arrows, what number you need to link to.

Screencast of one possible ending:

I also created a podcast to expand upon chapter 6 of Pobre Ana.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

