GoogleForm Idea

I found this on the EdTe.Ch blog. The blog post had 10 ideas, the one listed below is what I can immediately see applied in my classroom. It is so practical I can’t believe I have not used it before – but that will change for next year.

4) Comprehension questions

I spent quite a bit of time last year looking for some reading comprehension resources that could be used on a class set of laptops. A Google Form could be created as a way to collate the children’s comprehension answers in one place for any given text. You could also share the answers with the class so that they can review what their peers are doing. This could be a formalised assessment of their understanding of a text or something more informal to start class discussions. Again Steve has grabbed this idea by the horns and tried it with his kids – well worth a look, especially at his reflective comments and lessons learned. Get your own copy.

In each of the grade levels, we read at least one mini-novel to go along with the grammar concepts we are teaching in Spanish: Pobre Ana, Patricia va a California, El Viaje de su Vida, Casi Se Muere, etc. Last year when I knew I was going to be out sick, I left reading guides for the students. Frequently I created it as a Moodle submission. The problem with that, the students do not have a chance to see how other people responded. If it was done as a Google Form, everyone would see their classmates responses, but there would be no name attached if we just looked at the summary of responses. I think this would promote good dialogue in the class because there is frequently more than one correct answer to a reading guide question.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

