SimpleDiagrams

Another great resource shared through the Free Technology for Teachers blog: SimpleDiagrams.

This goes along perfectly with everything we have been talking about in my LTMS645 graduate class – Visual Representation for Learning and Communicating. We are using The Back of the Napkin as our textbook and these simple yet descriptive images are completely inline with the principles presented in the book:

For Simple Diagrams there is a free and a paid version. The designer is obviously benefiting from the feedback of users of the free version to make both versions so much better. There is also no false advertising – I created my example in about 5 minutes.

Here is the story behind mine – I have an idea. Without artistic talent I do not think I can convey the meaning by drawing it. I can use the computer (and SimpleDiagrams) to create an image than share with a bunch of people. They understand the message and I feel like the queen of the world.

If I wanted to spend another few minutes improving what I had created, I could add one word captions to some of the pictures and include something for the “create an image” part.

I will be able to create mini-stories for the students to describe in Spanish, which is one of the core elements of TPRS. Since it is something that has to be downloaded and installed on a computer, I will not be able to have the students create their own Simple Diagrams. However, I can see us creating many of these as a class.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

