First Week

The first week of school was successful. The students were very excited to come up and use the Promethean Board – it is amazing how much excitement can be generated to drag & drop. Technology used week one: Moodle, class blog (1 per class), ActivInspire, mini laptops, ClassTools, Quia, Quizlet, StudyStack, Glogster EDU, Symbaloo, digital camera, Photoshop, SpaLeOn, GoogleDocs, & YouTube. Plans for next week include more of the same plus curriculum appropriate Apps for an iPod Touch, ActivExpressions, and SlideShare. For now, I am creating most of the resources and just providing the students the links. However, eventually this year I want to make the students more responsible for their learning. I will give them a chunk of the content and the list of online resources they could use to create study materials – like ClassTools, Quizlet, StudyStack, etc.

I am also trying to incorporate more of what I learned in my Visualizations class LTMS645. I am having the students sketch images to help them remember the definitions of words. As an introduction of myself, I drew a bunch of pictures and had the students made deductions about what I like. Some of the pictures were humorous, but that was still a conversation point. I am also going to use the digital camera more to capture information that can be posted on the blog. This week I took a picture that summarizes the gender difference between most Spanish nouns – the ‘O’ and the ‘A’ – one held by a boy the other by a girl.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

