Symbaloo

I have been using Symbaloo as my homepage, so I have easy access to all my frequently visited websites. Now they have an educational version for Symbaloo. Of course it is free for students, because I do not believe in paying for educational technology. I realize how many websites I except my students to use on a regular basis, having them log in to one place to access everything they need makes so much sense.

Currently the students have to go to Moodle, GoogleDocs, the class blog (which has an annoyingly long URL because it is through a school server), Spanish.Typeit for accents, WordReference for a Spanish-English dictionary, Spaleon for Spanish conjugation practice, and the online workbook .

If the students have to remember as many websites for each of their classes, it would get confusing.  I have noticed some of my 8th graders already use it. I am going to recommend it for all my other 8th graders. In a 1:1 classroom, the students need an easy way to keep track of important websites. Since saving a website as a favorite is not an option (since favorites are re-set any time you log off) it makes Symbaloo valuable.


About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Reflection, Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

