No more need for ISTE envy

Last summer I was jealous of all the people who attended ISTE. Now I get my chance – both of my proposals were accepted for presenting poster sessions at ISTE’011 in Philadelphia. The topics of the presentations are Re-evaluating the hardcover textbook: a journey into digital textbook creation and Actively Engaged in Language Learning with ActivExpression. Both sites are a work in progress from now until early June, especially the textbook that is being created one storyboard at a time. The first year digital textbook with interactive practice activities will be completed by ISTE. That is the new goal/deadline.

I’m so excited about being accepted! I’m also slightly nervous because I have no idea what to expect. Any words of advice from past ISTE attendees? The only disappointment is the presentation time: Wednesday. The last day of the conference. Of all the people I talked to who attended last year, most said they only attended the first 3 days – that nothing happens the last day. So I’m a nothing. I’m a nothing who is proud of all my accomplishments and the fact I got accepted at all.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

