Advice for a Student Teacher

Success of public schools are negatively judged on student test scores; but colleges preparing teachers could be equally judged on the culture shock of student teachers entering a school. Many schools are sadly lacking in preparing new teachers for reality. Teaching them PowerPoint and how to create visuals using Clip Art is not teaching them to use technology to enhance education. A new student teacher in our building felt overwhelmed with all the technology. These are the basic resources that I feel could be used across many subject to help any new teacher (or at least new to technology) to feel confident. **

To find resources / websites:

To save websites:

  • Diigo – Finding inspiration through great resources will not do you any good unless you can access them later. Combining specific and general tags when you save will make it easier to find in the future.

Easy to Use Tools (in any subject area):

** I have been teaching for 5 years. So I am relatively new to teaching and technology. I am an example of how much you can learn when you explore with an open mind and are willing to go outside the comfort zone to engage students. Was it scary? At times. Was it worth while? Completely.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings & Advice Received and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Advice for a Student Teacher

  1. David says:

    Hi, I am the developer of WordStash (http://wordstash.com), which is also an engaging and easy to use study tool. It combines flashcards with a dictionary and games.

    • lgb06 says:

      I like the simplicity of studying using WordStash. 501 Spanish Verbs is one of your top lists – yet I can only search for English words. When I tried to search for Spanish words (that I knew were on the 501 list) it auto-corrected and showed me a result in English. I would find the website much more helpful if I didn’t teach a foreign language. Thanks for sharing the resource!

Leave a Reply

