GigaPan

During ISTE I had a bunch of links posted related to GigaPan that were shared during a wonderful session. GigaPan is was developed by the CREATE (Community Robotics Education and Technology Empowerment) Lab at Carnegie Mellon University. They have customized the offerings to fit with the needs of school communities with GigaPan School Dialogues.

Now I have had time to fully process the potential and come up with specific examples how I want to incorporate GigaPan into my classroom. Since not everyone in the world teaches Spanish, I also stretched my imagination and came up with some possible applications in non-Spanish subjects … but you have to scroll to the bottom.

SPANISH

I foresee this as a partner activity to introduce Spanish culture and geography. The discussion and questions they ask each other will add depth to a class discussion later. It could be an independent activity, but two pairs of eyes are better than one to find interesting details in a photo.  I am really hoping that the netbooks in my room for next year can display GigaPan to its full potential. It worked on my new netbook during the conference, but it would be more frustrating than rewarding on older netbooks that load slower than students patience allows. GigaPan will be my new go-to-tool for cultural understanding and engagement.

OTHER SUBJECTS

For additional inspiration on uses for GigaPan – the GigaPan Magazine has regular examples and applications for education. Even if the picture doesn’t fit your content, it still provides an interesting read and viewing.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to GigaPan

  1. Pingback: Five Minute Primary Source Lesson | Adventures with Technology

Leave a Reply

