What’s in a name?

What is the significance of a name?

The name of an item or a person is the way to identify them. With computer files, naming conventions either make it easy or impossible to find exactly what the user is searching for. This is somewhat true with people through the development of social media. The skills and expertise that people have are attached to their name and/or username. When someone looks for a specific solution, they go by the reputation of the name.

What happens if the name changes but the high quality work remains the same? Would the respect transfer to the new name?

This semi-random pondering is the result of weddings: one I attended last week, and my own that will occur sometime in the near future. The bride last week had her name changed on Facebook before leaving on her honeymoon. She abandoned her maiden name and assumed the last name of the groom. I assume the Facebook change mirrored the legal change as well. Within the year, I will be getting married. But I will not be able to confidently be able to change my name. Part of me doesn’t want to change my name at all; and the majority of me refuses to be a hyphenated name. Since I began teaching, I have created an embarrassing (in the good way) amount of online content to enhance the curriculum. The activities are connected to me. If it were just my students who used the content it would be a non-issue. However, I love sharing content and knowing that the hours invested are being spread over more learners. One conjugation I created has been played 47,370 times. My students love it, but not that much. That is evidence that others are learning through my online content, connected to my name. I might not have the reputation of Sir Ken Robinson or Will Richardson, but I have value to my PLN. Will changing my last name matter in the short run or the long run?

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings & Advice Received and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

