Games

I was asked to share and demonstrate one tool or strategy that I use to efficiently use technology in a 1:1 classroom. I put thought to it, and came to the conclusion that the student review games were the biggest and most successful change from the traditional classroom to the 1:1 classroom. Instead of doing plug-and-chug drills for memorizing vocabulary, the students ask to play their favorite games. They do improve with practice. The games can function at higher than a recall level, it just requires more creativity in the creation department.

I created a list of different online game creators and hosts of educational applicable (already created) games . The list can be found on my Spanish Techbook.  Most of the games are subject neutral or relating to many different subjects. For specific Spanish games (which there is an abundance) you would just have to click around the Techbook.

In previous posts I mentioned having students play games to earn badges in Edmodo. I set the point level they have to achieve ahead of time for them to badge up. This list would also be helpful for finding/creating the badge winners.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

