Fairy Godmother

From amanky on Flickr

 

I might not have the luxury of being a princess – Disney or otherwise – but I still feel like my wishes can come true. I realize that in this economy, and with the bulging world population, all that current fairy godmothers might have time for is to point you in the correct direction. I can achieve this for myself if I have clear directions to follow. So godmothers Google and Bing should be thanked. And the developers who made searching more accurately deserve greater gratitude. I can search using vague terms and the search pops out with results or suggestions for clearer searching.
I rely on my fairy godmothers for just about everything. My search history (with happily ever afters) looks something like this:

– “drain pipe extensions”
– “how to get rid of fruit flys”
– “menu for Hershey Grill”
– “voice recorder USB”
– “kitten care”
– “marshmallow frosting recipe”

This demonstrates an important skill. Students need to know how to search efficiently. They need to be able to find the answers to their own, everyday, random problems. Book knowledge is not an end-all solution. Everyone can, and will need to, learn something new everyday, and this is not limited to the K12 years.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fairy Godmother

  1. Kelly says:

    Hi There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I’ll be sure| to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information . Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.tag heuer monaco replica

Leave a Reply

