Pixton

I used Pixton with my 8th grade students for an in class chapter summary – it was one of the creative options they had. They were either frustrated by all the options or loved playing to get the image exactly like they wanted.

I was inspired by their creativity and ability to summarize a story. I tried the same thing as to summarize the 2nd chapter of the 6th grade novel Pobre Ana. My goal was to provide enough context clues and visuals to help struggling students grasp the important events in the chapter – without relying on showing the English.

This is just one panel in the comic, the rest can be found on Pixton.

I provided a visualization of chapter 1 of Pobre Ana using Prezi. Over the rest of the school year, I want to develop (and have the students help to develop) visualizations of each of the chapters of Pobre Ana.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pixton

  1. Pingback: Google Maps for Novel | Adventures with Technology

  2. Pingback: Glog Pobre Ana | Adventures with Technology

  3. Pingback: Popplet App | Adventures with Technology

  4. Pingback: Pobre Ana Animoto | Adventures with Technology

  5. Pingback: School End Reflection | Adventures with Technology

  6. I used your Prezi as the opener for reading Pobre Ana with my 5th graders. They were captivated. For Chapter 2, I printed a set of your Pixton Cartoons for each table and told them to use the book to put the frames in story order. When they were able to re-tell the story in the order in which it occured, they called me over to listen to them retell it as a group. After listening to the first group, I sent them out as ambassadors to the teacher to listen to the other groups and give them feedback. It worked extreemely well. For chapter 3 we compared the video by Blaine Ray with the book which was a great actvitiy for the week before Christmas break. I payed class money to those who found differences which kept all students involved. Thanks for making the teaching of Pobre Ana fun and exciting for my students.

    • lgb06 says:

      Thanks! I love hearing when people find the resources useful. Last year I challenged myself to come up with a creative way to present every chapter of Pobre Ana. The time it spent to create some of the chapter summaries is worthwhile when I realize how many people use it – especially the Prezi. Sadly after last year we switched novels. Now I don’t get to use the digital resources, but they are living on in other classrooms. That makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

