ISTE Preview

Someone already wrote a great and through blog post on How to Follow ISTE 2012 from Afar (@engaginged on Twitter) – and there was no need to re-write the same ideas. My blog provides links to all my ISTE content: Diigo, Twitter, Flickr,  Ning, etc.

Diigo Group

Any links I save and annotate on Diigo to the ISTE Ideas group will automatically be posted on my blog the next morning. I apologize in advance for the lack of visual appeal, that is out of my control. There was a test post yesterday to make sure it would work – and it did. The descriptions are just short snippets, but it is enough to remind myself to check out the potential once I return from the craziness.

Twitter #iste12

You don’t have to follow me (but you could @SrtaLisa) the hash tag has power unto itself. As long as you aren’t the jealous type. I did this for two years before I was able to attend. I did have ISTE envy, but I still was grateful for the ideas, links, resources, etc. Check out the Twitter feed during the day conference hours, the after dinner Tweets tend to be more social and less useful to a non-attender.

Flickr Group

Most of the images posted will be conference related, but no promises they will be educational in nature. The image to the left is the classic – what is in my ISTE bag photo. The real value is following the link to Flickr to read the notes on the picture. I looked at last years bag picture to make sure I wasn’t missing anything this year. Pictures are really worth a thousand words and two forgotten, critical items. I found that it was easier to snap a picture in the Expo Hall of products I wanted to try out later, so you will probably see some of those again.

Conference Program for my Poster Project

I am presenting another poster session on using Voicethread in the classroom. Of course the emphasis is more on the accompanying website than the posters themselves. Last year I cut and pasted the posters the night before. I am a little more prepared this year, but that is because I am flying to my destination.

ISTE 2012 Conference Ning

The social hub of the conference – there will be interesting resources posted the groups on the Ning as the conference goes on.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Reflection, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ISTE Preview

  1. Pingback: Pre-ISTE Insight | Adventures with Technology

Leave a Reply

