Edmodo Backup Plan

edmodo up and down

I love Edmodo. Days when it is not working (like today) I realize how crucial having a centralized course management system is to my class running smoothly. Between the first Edmodo fail and the end of the day I found a useful backup plan. It can be easily modified if it is necessary in the future.

My two major daily uses of Edmodo are communication and resource sharing. A combination of a Public DropBox folder and Bitly.com to shorten the URLs was a lifesaver (though the students might have been happier if we did nothing). All I did was upload the documents to my Public DropBox folder. Once in the folder, right click to copy the link so anyone can view the item. Since I displayed the URLs, I wanted them short enough for the students to accurately type, so I pasted into Bitly.com. The end result was posted on the Interactive Whiteboard – and students typed into their own device. It might have taken a few seconds longer than logging into Edmodo and clicking the shared link, but it is a easy backup solution for days when Edmodo is not an option.

just right click to get a link to the idem in the folder

just right click to get a link to the idem in the folder

bitly example

examples of the bit.ly links – full length to shortened length

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in LessonsLearned, Reflection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

