Learning Opportunity

HU with a view (and the most awesome chandelier)

Harrisburg U with a view (and the most awesome chandeliers)

My professional life has come full circle. In July 2009, I took LTMS600 and loved every minute and every lesson learned. I created my blog after learning about blogging and seeing the potential for public reflection and connection. Since I took LTMS600, my blog has had 25,000+ views. My first blog posts were all related to the tools and content of the course. Now I am [potentially] teaching two sessions of LTMS600 this summer at Harrisburg University of Science and Technology.

The official details are on the HU website: Course Description (page 198) & Summer Schedule (page 12-13).

However, I think their description is vague. I want to clearly explain what to expect of the course, because it is a great summer learning opportunity. I can say this with confidence as both a former student and the current professor.

LTMS600.01 is offered face-to-face at Harrisburg University and synchronously online (LTMS600.02). The University lists the course as lasting 15 weeks, but who wants to invest that much of their summer for a graduate course? The course will meet synchronously one week than asynchronously for the next two weeks. That means there will be assignments, readings, and reflections, but they can be completed at any point during those two weeks. By not having mandatory classroom time, it will free up more time to play with the new tools. So, instead of meeting every Wednesday through the summer, the required Wednesday meeting times are May 8, May 29, June 19, July 10, July 31, and August 14.

LTMS600.03 will meet at Harrisburg University every other Saturday starting mid-May:  May 18, June 1, June 15, June 29, July 13,  July 27, and August 10.

When I thought I was going to teach the Fall section of the class, I created an iMovie trailer to showcase the course.

The goal of the course is for educators to learn about educational technology. The target audience for the course is between basic user to borderline advanced. Basic users would benefit from the opportunity to take the class in a classroom. Teachers need to learn how technology can improve their practice and professional collaboration with social media, blogs, and digital curation tools. The course will also discuss the legal issues and teaching philosophies that have come about with the new technology and with so much information being published online. Obviously the biggest portion of the class is Web 2.0 tools that can be utilized in the classroom. The tools and skills are not limited to one subject area, they can be applied across content areas.

The summative project is taking something that is done in the classroom and turning up the H.E.A.T. (Higher Order Thinking, Engagement, Authentic Assessment, and Technology). It was interesting looking back on my project: Backchannel Chat en Español. In a few years, the tools I said I would use have changed. The tools have either gone from free to paid subscription, or educational friendly to full of inappropriate ads. I still like the project, it has just transformed to adapt with the current tools.

 

If you know anyone who might benefit (including yourself) – this has been my shameless plug for Web 2.0 in the Classroom. Your location does not matter too much, as long as you can occasionally connect online between 6-9pm EST. For more information check out HU or contact me through Twitter @SrtaLisa.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

