Position Wanted: Social Studies

My dream job is digital content curation; however, it would not be a good match. I am too much of a perfectionist and could not finish projects in a timely manner. If you ask me how long something took to create, you should probably multiple by three to find out the truth. It should not take that long, but I want things exactly the way I envision. I don’t want to discourage my colleagues from trying something new so I shrink the number of hours.
Sample Business Card
My new business cards are from Vista Print. The personal statement line captures my passion perfectly: culture and technology enthusiast. I have been teaching Spanish since I graduated college and earned my first job offer. However, I do not feel like I can be defined by a single subject. As a cultural enthusiast, I also have a love of social studies. Maybe it is the seven year itch, but I am ready for a change and social studies is calling my name. Here is my “evidence” of why I will make a great social studies teacher.

Twitter Connections

Twitter Connections

Animoto Video: Social Studies Dream

My travels and global friends provide a plethora of stories that will bring social studies alive. The students live in a world connected by technology, but that does not mean they understand what they see or perform their duty as global citizens. They need a cultural guide and someone to model global citizenship. The world often does things differently without being wrong. By the same token, not everything done by the United States should be assumed to be globally great.

So back to my opening statement: my dream job is digital content creation to bring content alive for the students. While teaching Spanish, I have created a digital Techbook, media for each chapter of Pobre Ana, and much more. I am ready to find new inspiration, from new content, for new digital creations.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Changes for Future, Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

