DIY Poster

When asked about the best sessions at ISTE, I consistently say the ‘Posters’ win my vote. I have presented three myself and love the opportunity to talk to so many people. Some people have asked what you have to have for the poster sessions. There are many possibilities, but this is what I like to include:

Screen Shot 2013-07-02 at 10.18.41 PM

The QR Codes/Shortened URLs make your resources digitally available for people. There are some people who like paper copies, but it was not worth having to transport in my opinion. The QR Codes should be easy for people to reach and attached to the table so they do not walk off. There are many ways to create QR Codes; QR Stuff tends to be my go-to resource because of the types of things you can turn into a QR Code, like plain text, app download, URL, etc. There are also multiple options for shortening URLs like Goo.gl or bitly.

To grab people’s attention (besides a great title) is the images of the tools I use. The hope is people recognize some and are intrigued by others. Colorful splashes of student work shows that it is actually something that happens in a real classroom. Last year it was printed screenshots of actual student work.

Business cards or some small token for people to follow up and contact you are useful. Of course, they tend to disappear rapidly. The backup plan is having contact information in QR form.

When you apply to present at the conference, they ask for a website. I create the skeleton of a website in Weebly that I can add everything to. It also shows how serious I am about wanting to present. It is easy to add a resource list, student examples, and research or evidence of best practice in a single place.

The blog is just as much for me as the people who visit the poster session. Explaining the process, tools, and end result ahead of time make it easier to talk to people. I have already articulated it and know I am prepared.

Real examples from previous years:

ISTE 2011

ISTE 2011

ISTE 2012

ISTE 2012

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Random Ramblings & Advice Received and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DIY Poster

  1. Isaac Pineda says:

    What a great post Lisa!

    It is very clear and illustrative of what you do. Thanks for the tips, the best practices ad your insight. I love the tip about having everything on a website when you submit your proposal. You’re right, it shows how serious you are.

    Thanks again, great job!

    • Lisa Butler says:

      This is just my style. I’ve seen people with a lot more and with less. Just remember your audience and the packing restrictions if you have to bring the posters in luggage.

      I had a couple people ask, and it was easier to blog the answer than respond with 140 characters on Twitter.

  2. Katy Pye says:

    Thanks, Lisa. Stumbled on your page via a Google search, and this was so helpful! I just created my first poster and QR code for a book fair and conference where I’ll be presenting and selling my middle-grade novel. I, too, love the idea of a separate event page to send folks to. Great tips. Wishing you a great school year!

Leave a Reply

