Create Your Own Zombie Adventure

Zombie Adventure Header

I was so inspired by last night’s #sstlap chat I couldn’t sleep much. Instead, I created my own adventure. Students will practice latitude and longitude while having to survive a zombie pandemic. The zombie idea was from Gerald Aungst, he has a conference session website with resources and other zombie lesson suggestions. I’m very grateful for the CDC resource, because that was the backbone of my story.

zombie foodThere were a plethora of digital resources that went into creating the Zombie Adventure:

  • Google Forms – For a guide to create your own using Google Forms, check out what was created by Sylvia Duckworth. I figured it out by playing with the options. Zombie 3 DaysAnother way to create a Choose Your Own Adventure is Quest.
  • Center for Disease Control Zombie Graphic Novel – This was really created by the CDC. It teaches how to be prepared for a natural disaster, but in an amusing way. It was a great storyline for my own story.
  • Breaking News Generator – This is a simple generator from Classtools.net. There is a lot of potential for humor in a Social Studies class.
  • Google Maps – As a geography teacher, there are so many ways to use Google Maps.
  • Zombies are comingTOMORROWImgFlip – Memes make everything better. ImgFlip allows you to create your own. PvZ zombie was the winner for the ‘try again’ messages.
  • U.S. Census Bureau Maps – The maps were high quality, with county lines, and the latitude and longitude grid. It was necessary for the adventure to have something the students could easily read.
  • Canva – I’m a Canva addict. I created the header image with Canva. I also wanted a teaser image to share with the students through Instagram and with Remind the day before.

My big takeaway: when I did the linking/new pages I labeled the multiple choice answers either correct or incorrect. After everything was linked, I went back and put the names of the places as possible answers to the multiple choice questions. It was easier to keep straight and do correctly the first time. To make it easier on myself for future stories, I created a template that has all the pages linked with descriptions of what each page should include.

My Choose Your Own Ending has multiple interconnected parts: the Google Form, the Google Map, the CDC Graphic Novel, and the Google Doc with the writing assignment. But I’m not worried, it will be easy to share everything with students through Google Classroom. It will be a two day activity for students.

I am providing the link to the shared Google Drive folder with the resources I created for the Zombie Adventure, including the template for easily creating your own. Feel free to make copies and customize it. I would love your feedback and a shout out on Twitter if you find it useful.

About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Geography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Create Your Own Zombie Adventure

  1. Lisa, thanks so much for taking my modest idea and running with it! This is fantastic stuff. Were you in my ISTE session, or did you find this some other way? Either way I’m glad you found it useful. Keep me posted on how it goes when you use this with your students!

    • Lisa Butler says:

      I was at ISTE this summer and really wanted to attend your session. I didn’t make it because my students were also presenting on Monday, so I spent the entire day with them. I was so proud of them, so I didn’t mind missing other presentations, but I’m grateful you shared your resources for those of us who had to lurk.

Leave a Reply

