The Fab Flocab

The fabulous thing about Flocabulary is that their passion engages students. This summer they expanded their available features (which you can read about on their blog). What I want to focus on today is the videos themselves from a newer unit.flocab-tweet-new-geography

Two years ago I exchanged a series of tweets with @Flocabulary mentioning that I loved the Week in Rap (and still do!) and that my students were obsessed with it. However, as a geography teacher, the applicable video choices were slim to none at the time. Flocabulary is constantly expanding their high quality video content. Last February a Geography category was added to Social Studies, and since then many videos have been developed that align with geography: Five Themes, Map Skills (which might win for catchiest name: Mappy Map), Continents and Oceans, Landforms and Bodies of Water, Latitude and Longitude, Migration, 50 States & CapitalsRegions of the US, and Urban, Suburban, and Rural. I am a very happy geography teacher now.

Unlike a textbook, students want to interact with the resources multiple times. So the videos can be used at the beginning, middle, or end of a lesson or small unit (or any combination of these). So what will this look like in an actual unit? I will use the Five Themes videos as an example. The Five Themes is the foundation for my geography class, so I was ecstatic when the videos appeared in the Flocabulary library. After a pre-test on Google Forms, I will show the Five Themes video as an introduction. We will watch the video twice: once at the original speed and once slower so they can absorb the lyrical significance of each line.

Based on the pre-test scores, some students will need implicit, small group, teacher instruction. Other students will learn from a flipped model; they will watch the videos independently, and then have teacher guidance on the more intellectually challenging application practice. The components of the Five Themes that have videos are: Movement, Region, Human-Environment Interaction, and Location. Videos, quizzes, and Read & Respond can be assigned if students have their own account. The videos quizzes will be formative assessments to make sure the students understand the content. For the students who learned the content with me, they get to watch the videos afterwards to reinforce the concepts in a catchy way. It does not matter the level of the learner; they are all engaged and ask to watch the videos multiple times.

At the end of the unit, all the students will create a project to show the Five Themes of our community. They have choice for what they want to create, anything from posters to videos to photo stories to letters and so much more. The Lyric Lab from Flocabulary will be a perfect addition to the creation menu. There are many ideas for implementing Flocabulary in the classroom, this was just a snapshot of one unit in my class. There are more suggestions and a How To section on the Flocabulary website.

The Opening Day presentation at my district focused on the message that students will be more successful and try harder when they feel they matter. I feel the same way with edtech companies. I embrace and find many uses for tools when I feel that my students and I matter to the company. Flocabulary makes that happen. A big thank you to the fab Flocab family!

biggiebloggerimage-flocabulary

Because I’m sure I have captured your interest and you want to experience Flocabulary for yourself, you can sign up to receive a free 45 day trial AND be entered for a chance to win a teacher license for a year.

    • You need to enter every field in the form to be eligible (it should only take them a minute!)
    • Everyone that enters the giveaway will receive an email for an extended 45-day school-wide trial of Flocabulary.
    • Winners will be drawn at random.
    • Your readers must enter by October 16th at 11:59ET.
* Full Disclosure: I am an MC Educator for Flocabulary… but they approached me to join because I was already super passionate about their company.
About Lisa Butler

Middle school teacher of Social Studies and Spanish, tech trainer, Flocabulary MC, Nearpod PioNear, and Edcamp Hershey Founder. I have embraced the power of blogging and reviewing products. If I am not doing something with ed or tech, I am probably reading, baking, running, or traveling.
This entry was posted in Geography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

